15 Books That Were Originally Self Published

October 16, 2013

booksThere is a phrase I find myself saying more and more as I wiggle my way deeper into the self publishing industry.

Did you know that was originally self published?

This is usually when some news coverage pops up about the latest and greatest book, and something in me compels me to squeak, “Did you know…”  Bowker recently reported that self publishing was actually driving traditional publishing, and as the works below are now largely traditionally published, there may be some evidence to this point.

And as I’m proud of where my boots sit, here are some books that were originally self published.

  1. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
  2. Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman
  3. The Joy of Cooking by Irma S. Rombauer
  4. A Naked Singularity by Sergio de La Pava (This won the prestigious PEN/Robert W. Bingham prize for debut fiction.  It comes with a prize of $25,000.)
  5. A Time to Kill by John Grisham
  6. The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield
  7. Peter Rabbit (yes, really) by Beatrix Potter
  8. 50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James
  9. Still Alice by Lisa Genova
  10. My Blood Approves by Amanda Hocking
  11. Eragon by Christopher Paolini
  12. A Secret Wish by Barbara Freethy
  13. Bared to You by Sylvia Day
  14. The Elements of Style by William Strunk, Jr. and E.B. White
  15. The One-Minute Manager by Ken Blanchard and Spencer Johnson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *